Chloe x Halle Release Debut Album ‘The Kids Are Alright’ + Short Film


Today (Mar. 23), sister duo Chloe x Halle has released their highly anticipated debut album The Kids Are Alright via Parkwood Entertainment/Columbia Records.

Written and executive produced by Chloe Bailey (19) and Halle Bailey (17), the 18-track album has been preceded by the songs “Grown,” which is also the theme for Freeform’s Grown-ish, the title track and “Warrior” from Disney’s A Wrinkle in Time. The album includes three features from Goldlink (“Hi Lo”), Kari Faux (“Fake”) and Joey Bada$$ (“Happy Without Me”), along with additional production by Pluss, bLAck pARty, Doc Allison, Pomo, Daniel McKinnon, Leon Feldman, Bram Inscore, Omega Fonseca, Adam Messinger, Nasri Atweh, Sad Money, and more.

For almost three years now, fans of the duo have been privy to their constant growth, keening harmonies and genuine musical moments, including stylish videos for original songs “Drop” and “Fall.” We have watched an evolution in beautiful progress as Chloe x Halle gave glimpses of the magic that was to come through their creative covers and gorgeously understated videos.

It was their soulful rendition of Beyoncé’s own “Pretty Hurts” that caught the attention of the global icon’s Parkwood Entertainment imprint in 2013. In the spring of 2016 Chloe x Halle released their debut EP, Sugar Symphony, braided by numinous forces equal to their sibling DNA: Mystically layered harmonies, peerless production instincts, and an adjoining R&B/pop destiny intertwined with mentor Beyoncé (who, incredibly, initially met the girls on a film shoot more than a decade ago), all setting the table for their genre-pushing debut.

“Our debut album ‘The Kids Are Alright’ means so much to us,” state Chloe x Halle. “This is three years of self-discovery, vulnerability, and growth, all put into one album. We’ve put our hearts and souls into every lyric, every beat, and we cannot wait for the world to hear.”

The R&B sister act have also released a 10-minute short film to accompany the album. Highlighting six songs, the visual stars the Bailey siblings and their friend Ashton Sanders, who rose to fame following his appearance in the 2017 Academy Award-winning drama Moonlight; Cara Stricker directed and Beyoncé collaborator Kwasi Fordjour wrote and creative directed the hypnotic project.

Stream the album and watch the short film below!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.