T-Pain Covers Sam Cooke, Frank Sinatra, Sam Smith & More In New Album, ‘On Top of The Covers’


Since his triumphant return to music in 2019, T-Pain has shredded the auto-tune stigma and doing whatever he wants as a creator, businessman, and musician. 

As announced in February, the Grammy-winner singer/songwriter/producer released his new album, On Top of The Covers, on Nappy Boy Entertainment/EMPIRE, a concept album in which he sings his version of a variety of genres classic that ranges from rock-n-roll to soul to pop to country.  

Among the cover album’s seven tracks are recreated versions of Sam Smith’s “Stay With Me,” Sam Cooke’s “A Change is Gonna Come,” Frank Sinatra’s “That’s Life,” and David Allan Coe’s “Tennessee Whiskey.” The album features a guest appearance by T-Pain protege, NandoSTL on “That’s Life.” Alongside Young Cash, the two recently collaborated on the track “Y.O.T.A.,” released at the top of the year. 

Leading up to the album’s release, T-Pain campaigned with a series of hilarious infomercial parodies – available now on his YouTube channel – that stars him as a variety of characters, including a disgruntled tele-a-thon host, news broadcaster, obnoxious rich man. 

“On Top of The Covers” follows Pain’s 2019 album, “1Up,” which spawned hit songs “Getcha Roll On,” “All I Want,” and “A Million Times.”

Stream the full album and watch the studio recording process below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.