Janelle Monaé Reveals ‘The Electric Lady’ Album Cover & Tracklisting



Janelle Monaé made a statement with her funky single “Q.U.E.E.N.” featuring Erykah Badu, and she got the world to boogie with the retro follow-up “Dance Apocalyptic.”  Now, as we approach the end of the summer, the eclectic performaer is gearing up for the release of her anticipated sophomore album ‘The Electric Lady.’

The set is expected to hit stores on September 10, and be released as a 2-disc set.  The album cover for the Target Deluxe Edition and official tracklisting hit the net today.  Along with Badu, the project includes some major features from Miguel and Solange, and incredibly Prince, who guests on “Givin ‘Em What They Love.”

She previously revealed that the title was inspired by a collection of paintings she was doing while performing on stage. She was constantly painting the same style backside image of a mysterious woman, and this lead to the name. In turn this inspired a deeper look into her own self, and thoughts on topics such as religion, sexuality, love, making-love, politics and more.

Take a look at the 2-disc track list below:

Janelle Monaé Electric Lady Tracklisting:

Disc 1:
01. Suite IV Electric Overture
02. Givin Em What They Love (Feat. Prince)
03. Q.U.E.E.N. (Feat. Erykah Badu)
04. Electric Lady (Feat. Solange)
05. Good Morning Midnight (interlude)
06. PrimeTime (Feat. Miguel)
07. We Were Rock & Roll
08. The Chrome Shoppe (interlude)
09. Dance Apocalyptic
10. Look Into My Eyes

Disc 2:
11. Suite V Electric Overture
12. It’s Code
13. Ghetto Woman
14. Our Favorite Fugitive (interlude)
15. Victory
16. Can’t Live Without Your Love
17. Sally Ride
18. Dorothy Dandridge Eyes (Feat. Esperanza Spalding)
19. What An Experience

Target Deluxe Edition
01. HYTB
02. I Want You Back (Jackson 5 cover)
03. Q.U.E.E.N. (Remix)
04. The Electric Lady (Remix)


1 Comment
  1. MrM3Ls 11 years ago

    The tracklisting alone got me excited for this! Prince, Miguel, Solange features?! Yikes

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.