New Music: Marc E. Bassy – ‘East Hollywood EP’


Marc E. Bassy East Hollywood

L.A. by-way-of-the-Bay Area singer/songwriter, Marc E. Bassy, has released his second project, the East Hollywood EP.   With a unique blend of boozy, bass-heavy, sexy storytelling,  Marc takes listeners through a recent period in which he went through a series of major transitions. Having written for artists such as Chris Brown, Usher, Akon, and many more, Marc’s experience in the music industry is obvious upon first listen.

Named after the downtrodden area of L.A. where he spent most of his time creating this project following a break-up with his band of 10 years and also his girlfriend, Marc found the strength and inspiration to cope by going through a period of self-medicating and non-stop partying followed by a period of binge reading. Inspired by American authors Charles Bukowski and Henry Miller, Marc felt an especially strong connection to their writings this time around, as the area he was staying at was literally the same as where they also stayed at in East Hollywood.

“The energy there fueled me to create. LA and Hollywood specifically, is wild because you can look down the street and see the wealthiest of the wealthy mingling with superstars and look the other way to see a homeless couple and their dog begging for money,” shares Marc. “Having been in this industry for 10+ with my former band and writing for people, it’s easy to get sucked into the scene with all its addictions like alcohol, drugs, chasing women, but I’m inspired by Henry Miller; he was living amongst prostitutes, gamblers, alcoholics, right in the belly of the beast and reporting how it feels to be there. With the East Hollywood EP, I’m reporting live from the center of all the beauty and the bullshit.”

Proud of the work he put in during an especially difficult period of his life, Marc says, “This is my best work to date. I love getting my heart broken. It’s the best – it makes you pick yourself off the floor and do better.”

Stream the full project below:

East Hollywood Tracklist:

01. Intro (Prod. by Count Bassy, Billion Coast, Marc E. Bassy)
02. XX (Prod. by Nikhil)
03. On Top (Prod. by Nikhil)
04. Livin In the City (Prod. by Count Bassy)
05. Some Things Never Change (Prod. by Blended Babies, Count Bassy, Billion Coast)
06. Faded ft. PIA MIA & Wynter Gordan (Prod. by Achal)
07. Free Love ft. P-Lo (Prod. by Michael Keenan & Jacob Olofsson)
08. Good Money (Prod. by Kuya Beats & Count Bassy)
09. Drunk And I’m Drunk ft. Bobby Brackins (Prod. by NicNacBeats)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.