New Music: Sam Smith – Drowning Shadows



With just days away from the re-release of his debut album In the Lonely Hour, Sam Smith is back with a new single lifted from the two-disc set.

Titled “Drowning Shadows” the song made its debut today via Zane Lowe. When speaking of the song, Smith stated: “‘Drowning Shadows’ is the saddest song I’ve ever written and the least radio-friendly song I’ve ever written,” he told Lowe (via EW). “I wanted to leave people on this artistic little song and this moment. This is proper… really dark.”

According to Sam, the song was actually penned before the popular “Stay With Me” and the other tracks from the album, but due to him not being satisfied with the production. “One would lead to gay clubs and one would go home. I was in such a lonely sad place, I’d have to decide whether to stay out or go home,” he explained about the meaning behind the sad track.

In the Lonely Hour (‘Drowning Shadows Edition’) hits shelves on Friday and will include his collaborations with Mary J. Blige (“Stay With Me”), A$AP Rocky (“I’m Not the Only One”), John Legend (“Lay Me Down”), and Disclosure (“Latch” and “Omen”).

Take a listen and catch the tracklist for the album below!

In the Lonely Hour (Drowning Shadows Edition) Tracklist:


01. Money On My Mind
02. Good Thing
03. Stay With Me
04. Leave Your Lover
05. I’m Not The Only One
06. I’ve Told You Now
07. Like I Can
08. Life Support
09. Not In That Way
10. Lay Me Down
11. Restart
12. Latch (Acoustic)
13. La La La
14. Make It to Me


01. Drowning Shadows
02. Love Is a Losing Game
03. Nirvana
04. How Will I Know?
05. Omen (Acoustic) feat. Disclosure
06. Latch feat. Disclosure (Live from Madison Square Garden, New York)
07. Stay With Me feat. Mary J. Blige
08. I’m Not The Only One feat. A$AP Rocky
90. Lay Me Down feat. John Legend

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.