Rihanna To Receive Video Vanguard Award at VMAs


Rihanna VMAs

Rihanna will be the next artist to rule the VMAs.

The pop megastar is set to receive the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards for her “decade-long impact on music, pop culture, fashion, film, and philanthropy,” it was announced today.

RiRi is also set to take the stage for a performance during the ceremony, which will air live from New York City’s Madison Square Garden on Sunday, Aug. 28 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

“Honored to take the #VMAs stage as your video #VANGUARD award recipient LIVE from NYC on August 28!” tweeted RiRi.

She joins a prestigious list of past Vanguard recipients including Madonna, Beastie Boys, Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Beyoncé, and Kanye West.

Rihanna has won Video of the Year at the VMAs twice for 2007’s “Umbrella” and 2012’s “We Found Love.” She is nominated again this year for Best Female Video and Best Collaboration for “Work” featuring Drake.

Beyoncé leads this year’s VMAs with a career-best 11 nominations, followed by Adele with eight.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.