AFROPUNK Launches Contest To Discover New Music for Upcoming Season of HBO’s ‘Insecure’


Issa Rae and HBO have teamed up with AFROPUNK to discover fresh innovative music from independent artists. For the next week, artists and bands can enter the #InsecureTracksContest by uploading their music submissions via

Contest closes May 22, 2018 at 11:59pm. The contest winner will have the opportunity to be featured in the upcoming season of Insecure and its accompanying soundtrack on RCA Records.

Participants are encouraged to be unique. The music should not reference the show directly by using character names, actor names or the show title in the lyrics. Issa Rae, music supervisor Kier Lehman, and their music team will select one winner from a pool of finalists.

The hit HBO series Insecure is known for the superb selection of music featured in the series from both established and independent artists, including SZA, Bryson Tiller, TT The Artist, Kari Faux and more. Insecure Season 2 earned 3 spots on The Hollywood Reporter’s Top TV Songs chart for July 2017: #1 SZA – “Love Galore” featuring Travis Scott, #2 GoldLink – “Crew” featuring Brent Faiyaz & Shy G, and #7 Jazmine Sullivan – “Let It Burn.”

Starring Golden Globe nominee Issa Rae, Insecure follows the friendship of two black women as they deal with their own real-life flaws while attempting to navigate different worlds and cope with an endless series of uncomfortable everyday experiences.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.