Xscape, Anthony Hamilton, CeeLo Green, Keke Wyatt & More Headline 2018 Bounce Trumpet Awards


The 2018 Bounce Trumpet Awards, the prestigious annual event celebrating African-American achievements and contributions, to set to premiere exclusively on Bounce on Sunday, February 11 at 9:00 p.m. ET.

The annual show is hosted by actors Larenz Tate (“Power”) and Erica Ash (“Survivor’s Remorse”) and includes powerful performances, moving tributes and appearances by many entertainers, politicians, activists, thought leaders and more.

Memorable moments from the show include a rousing musical tribute to So So Def Recordings Founder and honoree Jermaine Dupri, which includes performances by Anthony Hamilton, Bow Wow, Xscape and a surprise appearance by Ludacris that brought the house down. Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms joined for the presentation.

A crowd-pleasing celebration of honoree group Cameo featuring Doug E. Fresh, Big Daddy Kane, Carl Thomas, Stokley Williams, Bilal and Mr. Talkboxx performing a medley of Cameo hits including “Single Life,” “Sparkle,” “She’s Strange,” “Rigor Mortis,” “Word Up!” and “Candy.” CeeLo Green presented the group their Lifetime Achievement Award and then joined in for the closing number.

Additional thrilling performances include Arrested Development, Michel’le, Major, Estelle, V. Bozeman, Sir the Baptist, Keke Wyatt, Rhyon Brown and more.

The 2018 Honorees are: Jermaine Dupri, the GRAMMY Award-winning record producer, songwriter, and hip-hop artist who received The Music Innovation Award; Founder of Sundial Brands and new owner of Essence Communications Richelieu Dennis recognized with The Entrepreneur Award; Activist and National Co-Chair of the Women’s March Tamika Mallory who received The Impact Award; 13-year old social activist and author behind the #1000BlackGirlBooks Marley Dias who was presented with The Trailblazer Award; nuclear engineer and inventor Dr. Lonnie Johnson receiving The Innovator Award; Actress, singer and dancer Rhyon Brown who was given The Rising Star Award presented by McDonald’s and legendary American soul-influenced funk group Cameo being honored with The Lifetime Achievement Award.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.